Dear Little One

Dear Little One

Last night, we put away

Another set of jammies

 

Your little legs stretched out

Made the toes too tight

And the zipper too low

 

This set of jammies

Was so special to me

Bought while you were in my womb

 

They were pink

That’s a pretty big deal for me

But they also had an owl and stars

 

I sighed as I folded them

Looking down at you

Smiling up at me

 

As your other mother

fetched a new pair

That are just a little too big

 

But you will grow

Into these and out of these

As your tiny frame expands and becomes

 

And my heart just keeps

On growing, I think it will burst

I don’t know how there’s so much love

 

Our family is so special

You are so special

This love is so special

 

I think about how tiny you are

Yet how much you’ve grown

How we have struggled to get it right

 

How precious and hard fought for

Our breastfeeding relationship has been

And how I still wish I could give you more

 

I still worry when I look

And wonder if you are gaining well

Even though, you clearly are now, going through your clothes

 

And you are so smart

And you are so aware and bright and delightful

And, pumpkin, you are incredibly beautiful through and through

 

I think about how much I wonder

What you will be like when you get older

And how I love to watch your personality show more and more

 

One day, you will put on

Your own pajamas, without the little feet built in

And you will sleep in your own bed all night long

 

And while your mommas will celebrate having our bed

I’ll miss those little snuggles

And those night time nursings when we reconnect

 

So while I am sleep deprived

And while I am tired and my arms hurt

From holding you carrying you bathing you changing you

 

I’m going to stop

And just enjoy you and every little smile

And all of those giggles and belly laughs and that baby scent

 

You are a little person

But you won’t always be so small

But my love for you will always be so big

 

Love,

Your Momma C

 

baby hand

Please join the discussion.

