By the Light of the Bonfire

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about interaction and the way interaction is carried out these days: texts, facebook, comments on internet forums and blogs, email, and if you are really lucky: a phone call.

It’s no small wonder we feel lonely. I know I do.

I often miss my friends who are far away, and I am thankful for technology to be able to stay in touch with them. However, it seems (and this is nothing new I am saying) that we lose something and often resort to these less personal forms of communication even when they are not necessary.

I am so guilty of this.

This past weekend, we had something really special happen at our house. Our friends came over for a bonfire.

New connections were made. Laughs and songs were belted out. Marshmallows were roasted, and fallen trees were put to a good use. And more people realized we make the best damn chili on the planet.

But the best part?

We felt together. We sang happy birthday and lit a candle for one friend. We listened to stories. We sat close together. We laughed, and laughed, and laughed some more.

I realized, after the fact, that I hadn’t taken a single picture during the event, only before. But then I realized how beautiful and wonderful that was. We were lost in the moment, and that was the perfect place to be.

photoJust as the lights of our tiki torches and fire lit the way to a warm friendly place, the call of friendship and true connection beckons us to take the time to lay aside our phones, turn off facebook and twitter, and be with each other – truly be with each other.

Will you answer?

Love,

C.

 

4 thoughts on “By the Light of the Bonfire

  1. you bring up good points. That is good you got to enjoy friends. Facebook has helped me be more social. I use social media to communicate. I struggle in social settings and that is due to my Autism. With that being said having good friends is important.
    Blessings

    • I always appreciate your insight and perspective, friend. What an important thing to remember – how helpful social media is to some people who may struggle in social settings and people who may find written communication is easier and more effective for them. Thank you for your thoughts!

Please join the discussion.

