For All Gentle Thoughts and Mild

I took last week off, just to have some time to rest and to enjoy the weekend. Now I am back in full force.

To be honest – there is so much to write about and so much on my mind: from Trayvon to the Voting Rights Act and all of the victorious things happening for LGBT rights in the US – to the heartbreaking reality LGBTQ people face in Russia and other European countries where violence against LGBT people is becoming a societal norm.

I’ve thought about our garden and about our hopes and dreams for our homestead and our hopes for communal living and communal farming with our friends in the future.

I’ve thought about music and the power of singing and a wonderful interview I read with Dar Williams. (Shout out to my friend Kim for introducing me to Dar).

I had my birthday last week. (The big 3-2).

We booked our honeymoon/anniversary/legal marriage trip. We can’t even wait.

I keep thinking about how much I love this amazing woman who is my wife and partner for eternity.

I cannot stop thinking about having kids. I find myself crying every time I read Mommy blogs and articles, and a ridiculous giddy joy when I see babies laughing. I ache inside in a deep place as I long for motherhood, and feel excitement as I know it is growing closer.

The idea of family bonds has been at the front of my thoughts – my wife, our friends who have become family, our future kids – it’s how we form our own families – including those who have already been family (parents, grandparents, siblings, etc.)

It’s like that old song “Make new friends; keep the old. One is silver and the other gold.”

I think family is the same way.

I just can’t get over how beautiful the joining of families is.

It makes me excited for the future, but also gives me assurance that as we take the next few steps in life together, we will be surrounded by love – family and friends.

The following is a hymn that we sang at the marriage of our friends Claire & Austin. It has been on my mind, and we sang it at our own congregation recently, too.  I want to share it with you today and leave it with you to think on. There are more verses, but these are the ones most on my mind.

For the Beauty of The Earth

For the beauty of the earth,
For the glory of the skies;
For the love which from our birth,
Over and around us lies;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For the wonder of each hour,
Of the day and of the night;
Hill and vale and tree and flow’r,
Sun and moon, and stars of light;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

For the joy of human love,
Brother, sister, parent, child;
Friends on Earth and friends above,
For all gentle thoughts and mild;
Lord of all, to Thee we raise
This, our hymn of grateful praise.

Love,

C.

4 thoughts on “For All Gentle Thoughts and Mild

  1. I love your thoughts here esp about family. It is so much more than blood and genes. Having moved around the world so much, I have called many people sister, mother, grandmother, father, aunt, uncle, cousin. Growing up in the Greek community we call many family friends aunt and uncle and cousin even though they had no real relation to us. They just meant so much more than friends. Even here in Waco, I have learnt a great deal about being family for people who we may even never see again in 5 years – it’s about meeting the needs we all have right now being miles away from blood relatives.

  2. I love this 🙂

    Lots of thinking for us as well. I’ve been avoidant about the Trayvon issue…as moms of black babies, I just want to bury my head in the sand for a few years. I know I can’t forever. Erg. And then DOMA has huge implications for our family. We had that same ache for motherhood…it was depressing to see how many more doors to parenthood were open to us as a “two single women family” over a married same-sex couple. As we talk about plans for marriage, we know it will close some doors to baby #3 (if/when we decide to have another). :/

    • Thank you so much for joining in the conversation. I have read some of your entries, and I am so thankful for your perspective, especially as the mother of black children… Wow. I can’t imagine the different emotions you experience with news like Trayvon’s story. You bring up some bittersweet points here about how progress can also hinder us in certain areas. Your family is a beautiful picture of coming together. Thank you for reading and sharing, and I hope the best for your family!

      Grace & Peace,
      Charity

Please join the discussion.

